LivinLife123

Livin Life, one day at a time, and filling you in on the randomness of it all!

FrankenPhone February 21, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sara @ 4:26 pm

Remember when I showed you guys a pic of the hubs broken phone a few days ago? It was in a FebPhotoADay post…If you forgot…[because I KNOW you read the post…right?]…here’s a pic:

20120220-163207.jpg
Let’s just say the phone was having a rough day….

What to do??

First thought – Buy a new phone, no we’re not for upgrades, and yes we NEED it to be an iPhone, and no they will not sucker me into adding a line to get a discount on the phone…that’s a ripoff and a half by the time it’s said and done.

Other options – Be phoneless…who are we kidding, that’s not happening. Buy one at an online auction? No, unless you get lucky or want an outdated phone you don’t save all that much. Fix it…why didn’t we think of that before? Funny how genius ideas pop up when you see a price tag 😉

When the iPhone 4 first came out it was time for my upgrade, after having my awesome new phone for about a week a child who shall remain nameless dunked it in a 50 gal bucket of dog water…needless to say the phone crapped out…but we saved what was left of it. It always tried to turn on so I figured there might be hope….long story short…there was no hope for that phone, but hubs took the shell off it and the insides of his phone to create a [like]new, perfectly working, iPhone4…and all it cost was $5 for a kit that had the mini screwdriver needed.

The front and back pieces of the broken phone

20120220-174202.jpg

    Before & After

20120220-174609.jpg

    TaDa!! FrankenPhone!!!

20120220-174725.jpg

YEAH for saving $500!!! What a WIN!!! ….and what a genius hubs 🙂

I’m linking up with YeahWrite …Have you? And have you stopped by, you’ll find tons of great new blogs to blogstalk  follow 🙂

 

18 Responses to “FrankenPhone”

  1. grammyjj Says:

    My SIL is VERY, VERY smart! He gets it from me 🙂

  2. Katie Says:

    Wow. Smart thinking!!! And “Frankenphone” totally had me cracking up!

  3. kvetchmom Says:

    Wow! I’m impressed and will remember this for future iPhone meltdowns. 🙂

    • Sara Says:

      Thank you ! They sell these kits with the tiny sized screwdrivers online and at a lot of phone stores for just a few dollars and you can find how to’s on you-tube to make it easier 🙂

  4. I feel like I am in the presence of greatness. i always like to see someone win.
    BTW, for the dunked phone, did you ever try putting it in a bag of rice? Has worked for Erin before. Ellen

    • Sara Says:

      Thank you! The hubby is pretty amazing if I do say so myself…I *may* be a little partial though 🙂 The bag of rice has saved a few iPods at our house in the past, this one just got way too drenched…I actually left it in a bag of rice for almost 2 weeks in hopes of miracle lol. I’m just thankful we saved the pieces…what a blessing in disguise!

  5. chosenchaosblog Says:

    Very impressive!! I would have pouted until I got a new one!

  6. Kerstin Says:

    That is genius! Hopefully the FrankenPhone will play nice, I get the feeling it might be watching you… 🙂

  7. Woo hoo!!!!! Score!!!! And man, it sure looked hopeless before….

  8. Woohoo for handy husbands!

  9. Excellent! Big-time brownie points for your man! And now you can invest all that money you saved on the phone in your blog, right?

  10. Sara Says:

    Wow! Color me IMPRESSED! I had no idea such a solution existed! Perhaps your hubs would like to take a “crack” at my phone? Without being dunked in a bucket, ran over, dropped, or other such provocation, it has decided not to stay awake long enough to do ANYTHING. I got it replaced (thankful my phone insurance surpasses the benefit of my medical insurance). Now I can’t get it to stay awake long enough to retrieve roughly 1,000 pic of my darling three year old.


Leave a Reply

