LivinLife123

Livin Life, one day at a time, and filling you in on the randomness of it all!

Mom Lessons January 17, 2012

Filed under: Autism,kids,Link Ups,Parenting,thoughts — Sara @ 5:17 pm

10 Things I’m Learning Being A Mom

Note I say I’m Learning, not I’ve Learned, because every day I learn something new, every day that quote from The Real World flashes through my head saying, ‘You think you know, but you have no idea’…. Here’s my list of 10 things that [I think] I know, as of now:

10- Siblings fight more than any only child thrown into parenting can ever be prepared for….autism or not, brothers will be brothers, boys will be boys, and they will shenanaginize as such

9- YouTube can be a great teacher. I would have thought this one was bs a few years back, but my son is addicted to a YouTube channel called kidsTV123 My son has learned his colors, days of the week, months of the year, all sorts of good stuff….check it out (and no KidsTV123 has no knowledge of me or this post, and I am in no way being compensated for my opinion, I just think it’s a great fun learning tool for children)

8- Sometimes it’s easy to over parent…know what I mean? Kids have to learn to work things out for themselves, how to entertain themselves, and how to manage their kiddo business (for lack of a better word lol)

7- Sanity Savers are important for any parent….and by sanity savers I don’t mean wild kid-free nights out on the town….I mean simple things you can add in your daily routine to make your day a little more laid back. Check out mine HERE.

6- Kids will be kids, let them…..teach them, guide them, but don’t rush them into being an adult

5- Trust your gut….for everything an expert or professional knows, 10,000 parents have known and told said professionals about numerous times (i.e.- autism parents have been speaking of the powers of probiotics for years, doctors laughed at us for years, now every grocery store diary isle loaded with yogurts preaching the powers of probiotics…those same probiotics we were nuts for using a few years back…)

4- While eating healthy is important, stressing yourself out to the point of sickness over your kids not eating isn’t worth it. Offer healthy choices at each meal, limit snacking when possible, and never forget the power of a multi vitamin

3- Kids will have meltdowns, especially with autism – they just happen , that doesn’t mean our whole world stops, that means ‘You can be mad, but go be mad in your room, and come out when you’re done’

2- Pick your battles

-and the number one lesson I’ve learned being a mom, and this one I know is a FACT

1- Your kids are 100% perfect, tell them that and that you love them EVERY DAY!

20120117-114048.jpg
-In my early days of parenting, 19, pregnant with the little man, hanging out outside our soon to be built house with my hubs and the twins….about 7 years ago.

So what’s on your list of 10 Things You’ve Learned as a Mom (or Dad)? Do a post of your own and add your link, I’d love to check it out 🙂

I’m entering this post in LoveLinks #40….I’ve been reading the LoveLinks Link-Ups for weeks now, and this is my first week to join in…click the link below to check out all the other great posts /bloggers linking up

 

18 Responses to “Mom Lessons”

  1. So true – especially the part about over parenting. Now that my kids are older (teenagers) I wish I would have let them learn how to tend to their own business more while they were growing up!

    • Sara Says:

      I have to remind myself not to always jump in to sibling bickering and let them learn to deal with it themselves….as long as no ones broken or bleeding or anything to crazy lol

  2. Welcome to your first lovelinks!

  3. Love #6: Kids will be kids, let them…..teach them, guide them, but don’t rush them into being an adult

    All are Great “Mom Lessons” to keep learning 🙂

    • Sara Says:

      Thanks! Sometimes it gets so easy to rush kids to grow up without even realizing it, I have to remind myself from time to time to let kids be kids 🙂

  4. grammyjj Says:

    Like #3 “Kiddo business”. I love your “words/terms” for stuff. You always were creative.

  5. Eric Storch Says:

    You WILL keep learning. This list is great! I think of all of them, not over-parenting is the one that will never change. Let your kids be kids, love them and guide and all will be well.

  6. Definitely all good lessons!

  7. I am SO glad you linked up with us! And this was a great one to do it with! From one learning mom to another, yay you!

  8. Such wise words, thank you for sharing! I’m only 2 years into this motherhood gig, and boy, I really know nothing 🙂

    • Sara Says:

      It amazes me how much i thought I knew pre kids and how little I really do know….I think the key is faking it…our parents were just a clueless as we are and as kids we had no idea lol 🙂

  9. It’s true, we knew everything before kids, right?
    Great post!


Leave a Reply

