LivinLife123

Livin Life, one day at a time, and filling you in on the randomness of it all!

Mainstream Music October 5, 2011

Filed under: 30 Day Blog Challenge — Sara @ 3:50 pm

30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 16: Your Views on Mainstream Music

Yes, sadly I’m still playing catch-up on the 30 Day Blog Challenge…..

What is mainstream music?

Urban Dictionary defines it as, “Music that’s usually on the radio, Top 40 and is well known to the general public. Usually criticized by fans of the previous mainstream generations, and people who prefer bands and/or genres that aren’t apart of the mainstream popularity of the time” as well as “The worst music out there. It is usually for people that have low IQ’s, are conformist, and are afraid to explore other music out there.” [http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Mainstream%20Music]

I’m very guilty of jamming out to massive amounts of Top 40 hits in every genre of music. I’m a radio junkie. I’m too cheap to buy albums, and I don’t even know where to begin (and I’m kind of lazy) when it comes to finding new, less heard of bands and their music. I have to admit, I’m particularly fond of 90’s music and a lot of the stuff on the radio today makes me smh…which according to Urban Dictionary fits the definition…lol

If you ask me, most artists who make music would love to make it to the top. They’d love to be discovered, make and sell tons of records, and make millions.  But that doesn’t happen for everyone. Not everyone can be famous and have their songs played on the radio. It sucks that it’s so difficult for up and coming artists to get their music heard. Does that mean they have any more or less talent than another….No, not by any means.

That being said, I love music…all kinds, whether it’s on the radio, on MTV, on YouTube, or a local band playing at the coffee shop. I don’t however love artists that rely too heavily on the pitch correcting software. That’s where a lot of today’s more famous artists lose me…I’m not going to name names, but I remember watching a certain performance on one of the MTV award shows one year where the pitch correcting software wasn’t on and the unnamed artist had less actual singing talent than I have..which doesn’t say much since my kids put their hands over my mouth EVERY TIME I try to sing.

So to sum up —- I don’t care if you’re playing The Local Show, at a hole in the wall bar, or on National Television, if you have talent I 110% support your right to rock out….and if you sound like me…remember, ‘Professionals get paid to sing so no one has to listen to you or I do it’ 😉

Don’t forget – Join me in the 30 Day Blog Challenge – Just click this link —>http://randomosityblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/30dayblogchallenge.jpg

 

2 Responses to “Mainstream Music”

  1. I’m a top 40 gal. I grew up recording songs from the radio when I was a teenager. I am most definitely a radio junkie for sure! In 2003 I discovered talk radio and that’s when I became more outspoken on politics and hot topics.


Leave a Reply

