LivinLife123

Livin Life, one day at a time, and filling you in on the randomness of it all!

Doritos For Breakfast – Picking Your Battles August 4, 2011

I cook all the time, I love to cook…if some one will eat it.

Some days with my kids that can be a big *IF*….not that the boys are always stinkers about food, but we all have our picky days. With the boys being home for summer I’ve gotten up many mornings and made a huge breakfast to surprise them…yet they never seem to be impressed. So this morning when Colin brought me a bag of Doritos I thought, to hell with it. I poured him a bowl of chips, and a bowl of berries (because if you add a piece of fruit it automatically makes any meal healthy), and decided these chips are no worse than pancakes with syrup or marshmallow cereal. Especially since the boys tend to just pick out the dehydrated marshmallows and leave the rest.

Breakfast of Champs

Point of the story– Pick your battles…if it won’t matter in 5 years it shouldn’t matter now (A tip from my FIL, and great advice when it comes to kids, marriage, or life in general).

*Bonus* If you’d like to add some of my dieting logic–they’re Nacho Cheese Corn Chips, corn is a veggie and cheese is a dairy…Throw in the berries and you’ve got a well-balanced meal…and for the ultimate slacker mom logic just give them a gummy vitamin and call it a win! 😉

 

7 Responses to “Doritos For Breakfast – Picking Your Battles”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    You rock!! This is so like something I would have done :):)

  2. Brilliant. 🙂 I feed my kids what they will eat. Is it always healthy? No. I’m not a big believer in the “clean your plate” method either. Eat until you’re full and then stop.

  3. sjane84 Says:

    Kids won’t let themselves stave, when they get hungry enough they’ll eat, no matter what it is. I’m a big fan of ‘This is dinner, eat it now with us at the table, sit at the table while we eat and your same plate will be waiting when you finally do get hungry, or make something yourself. I’m not a short order cook….but I am a slacker lol so if they ask for it before I start cooking and what they want is easy to make, I say it’s a win 😉

  4. […] Doritos For Breakfast […]

  5. Hurrah, that’s what I was exploring for, what a information! present here at this blog,
    thanks admin of this site.

  6. Wow! After all I got a web site from where I know how to really get
    valuable information concerning my study and knowledge.


Leave a Reply

